The Annual Physical Exam – A Ritual to Be Avoided

My parents believed so much in the healing powers of medicine that as a child I was subjected to annual physical examinations at the University of Michigan Medical School.  For nearly half a day several highly trained professionals examined my body looking for the slightest indication that I might have the beginnings of a potentially fatal illness, such as cancer.  An analysis of my body fluids and excrements provided the final proof that I was in excellent condition – likely to survive until next year.

You might think this exam to be prudent action by my parents, showing their love and concern; but these expensive intrusions did nothing to prevent me from suffering a debilitating stroke at the age of 18, having a cholesterol level of 335 mg/dl at 22, gaining 50 extra pounds of fat by the time I was 24, and undergoing major abdominal surgery when I was 25 years young.  Nor is an annual physical examination likely to make a meaningful difference in your life – and that is why major health organizations worldwide recommend against this customary checkup.

Read more:  http://www.drmcdougall.com/misc/2005nl/july/050700physical.htm

Author: CA Care

In obedience to God's will and counting on His mercies and blessings, and driven by the desire to care for one another, we seek to provide help, direction and relief to those who suffer from cancer.

Leave a Reply

